Being Present Today

post2

More often then not, you will find me thinking (some might describe it as obsessing) over every aspect of my future. Where I will be living six months from now, what kind of job will I have, or if I will be married by then. I even become anxious when I try to plan dinner for the next night, attempting to make every detail perfect! Sometimes I worry so much about the future that I completely miss out on what’s going on right in front of me and the lessons God wants me to learn for that day.

But you now what? Trying to plan and worry about all the possible outcomes of tomorrow is not only pointless but also distracting. We, as humans, are not meant to be concerned with anything past right now. Now read that line again and say it aloud. 

In Matthew 6, one of the lessons Jesus teaches us is about how worrying about what is to come depicts a lack of faith. He reminds us that God provides for the sparrows and He loves  us so  much more so of course He will take care of us!

The point of trusting God with our future is so that we focus on being present in the present. Everyday is a new day for God to use us or use someone else to influence us. If we are too distracted with planning our futures then we could miss out on lives God wants us to change.

Pray this prayer for God to keep you focused today:

Dear God, 

Thank you for all the blessings you have provided and continue to provide for me. Lord I know I have been distracted lately, but I want You to guide me so that I can focus on You and what You have planned for me today. Lord please help me to see the people who need to here from You and to hear the messages You have for me. I pray that you will help me to release my future and to place it solely in Your hands. Lord I thank You for Your peace and for Your guidance. 

In Jesus’ Blessed name I pray amen! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

